UNDATED -- Four local teachers are among this year's candidates for Minnesota's Teacher of the year.

Chris Ann Johnson is a science teacher at St. Cloud's Apollo High School, Lynette Faber is a first-grade teacher at ROCORI's John Clark Elementary, Shelby Chollett is a language arts teacher at Sauk Rapids-Rice Middle School, and Nancy Davis is a fourth-grade teacher at Rice elementary.

There is a total of 168 candidates this year.

The 55th Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be announced on Sunday, May 5th in St. Paul.

Get the Official River Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter and get the latest Minnesota & music news in your inbox a couple times a week. If we're not awesome, drop us like a hot potato.