MN Woman Cited for Texting About Hands Law Free While Driving
*Apply palm to forehead*
Minnesota's new Hands Free Law went into effect yesterday (August 1), and apparently some Minnesota drivers didn't get the memo. Or forgot. Or didn't care.
City Pages reports that the first documented case of a hands-free citation was given in the West Metro at 2:00am Thursday (the new law went into effect at midnight). Golden Valley PD made their first hands-free citation shortly before 9:00am and the Eagan Police -- at least according to
their Twitter account -- were busy throughout the day.
First-time citations for a hands-free offense will cost drivers $50; each time after is $275.