For only the second time in program history, the Saint Cloud State Huskies men's hockey team advanced to the NCAA Division-1 Frozen Four, now they'll play for the national title.

Saint Cloud State defeated Minnesota State (Mankato) yesterday in the first Frozen Four semifinal game 5-4 in Pittsburgh.

The Huskies will face Massachusetts tomorrow night (4/10) at 6 PM CT on ESPN. Last season's Frozen Four being canceled due to COVID-19.

Massachusetts defeated UMD last night 3-2 in overtime.

96.7 The River logo
Get our free mobile app

After a record setting NCAA men's hockey tournament 16-team field that included all five of Minnesota's Division-1 teams for the first time ever -- with all five Minny teams winning their first round matchups, the Minnesota Golden Gophers and Bemidji State Beavers were eliminated in the quarterfinals.

In the 2021/2022 season, Saint Thomas University in St. Paul will become Minnesota's sixth Division-I men's hockey program.

That left the NCAA Frozen Four in Pittsburgh with three of the four college programs residing in Minnesota -- with Saint Cloud State, Minnesota State (Mankato), and Minnesota-Duluth, joining Massachusetts in the final four.

The only other time the St. Cloud State Huskies advanced to the NCAA Frozen Four was in 2013.

Saint Cloud State beat Boston University 6-2, and beat Boston College 4-1 in the Northeast regional of the 2021 NCAA tournament to advance to the Frozen Four.

The Frozen Four national championship game will take place Saturday at 6:00 PM CT on ESPN, and will also be heard in the St. Cloud area on 96.7 FM.

10 Foods That We Are Putting in the Fridge that Shouldn't Be


More From 96.7 The River