Netflix Says “Use It Or Lose It”
Netflix has certainly been a boredom buster during the stay-at-home order. I can't even imagine the amount of Netflix binge-watching that has been happening since "you know what" hit the fan.
If you haven't used your Netflix account in the last year, you will be receiving an email or in-app notification informing you that your account will be purged. Yep, use it or lose it. The good news is that if you resubscribe within ten months, you will not lose your profile data.
If you fail to respond, your account will be automatically deactivated.
"We've always thought it should be easy to sign up and to cancel," Eddy Wu, the company's director of product innovation, said in a statement. "So, as always, anyone who cancels their account and then rejoins within ten months will still have their favorites, profiles, viewing preferences, and account details just as they left them."
Since the beginning of the pandemic, Netflix managed to bring onto their streaming platform 16 million new subscribers. The actual amount of Netflix inactive accounts is relatively small. There are roughly a "few hundred thousand" inactive accounts, which sounds like a lot but represents about one half of one percent of their total subscriptions.
Netflix reported in April that it had nearly 183 million subscribers. Not bad. Personally, I think they should be counted as one of the "essential" services.
By the way, if you haven't binge-watched the first three seasons of "Ozarks", you are really missing a great series. All three seasons are available on Netflix.